Algoma U Thunderbirds Hand Out 2015/16 Hardware

On March 11th, Algoma University and the Algoma University Thunderbirds Varsity Athletics Program recognized the hard work, dedication, skill, and academic achievements of their student-athletes at their annual Varsity Athletics Banquet. Held at the Grand Gardens, this year’s banquet celebrated the Thunderbirds’ third season in Ontario University Athletics (OUA).

At the opening of the awards ceremony, Dr. Lou Lukenda was inducted into the Thunderbirds Wall of Fame in the Builders category. Lukenda is a man who is well known for his success, philanthropy and community leadership. Retiring as a dentist after a career that spanned 38 years, Lukenda remains a member of several dental associations, and his dedication to health care continues today. He has been a strong and active supporter of the Algoma Thunderbirds for the past 14 years. Through generation donations, chairing various events, and helping lead the OUA Task Force, he has helped make the Algoma University Thunderbirds Varsity Athletics Program a success.

Female Student-Athlete of the Year honours went to women’s basketball player Karissa Kajorinne (Thunder Bay, Ontario). As captain of her squad, Kajorinne is the second leading scorer of her team, fourth leading rebounder, and first in steals. She finished out the season shooting 35 percent from inside the paint and 34.4 percent from beyond the arc – ninth highest in the OUA. For the men, Andre Barber (Topeka, Kansas) won the top honour. Barber is the leading scorer on the squad, averaging 13.3 points per game and shot 36 percent from the three-point line. He led his squad to their first win of the 2015-16 season against the Western Mustangs, scoring all of his 19 points in the final 10 minutes of the game.

The following awards were also handed out:

Dr. Lukenda Thunderbird Service Award
Noodin Shawanda (men’s wrestling)

Academic Achievement Awards (highest academic achievement for their sport)
Carlie Manners (women’s basketball)
Reng Gum (men’s basketball)
Marissa Ditoro (women’s cross-country running)
Daniel Scarpino (men’s cross-country running)
Lauren Rogers (women’s curling)
Andrew Vanderburg (men’s curling)
Marissa Ditoro (Nordic skiing)
Lauren Moore (women’s soccer)
Caleb Charlebois (men’s soccer)
Lauren Towell (women’s wrestling)
Michael Casagrande (men’s wrestling)

Women’s Basketball
Coaches’ Award – Carlie Manners
Best Defensive Player – Alyssa Dovigi
Most Improved – Mairead Dunn
Rookie of the Year – Marlee Ball
MVP – Karissa Kajorinne

Men’s Basketball
Coaches’ Award – Brett Zufelt
Best Defensive Player – Reng Gum
Most Improved – Sean Clendinning
Rookie of the Year – Jermaine Lyle
Rookie of the Year – Nathan Riley
MVP – Andre Barber

Women’s Cross-Country Running
Most Improved – Brittany Noonan
Rookie of the Year – Marissa Ditoro
MVP – Anna Stilin

Men’s Cross-Country Running
Coaches’ Award – Daniel Scarpino
Rookie of the Year – Lucas Luciani
MVP – Zach Buchan

Women’s Curling
Coaches’ Award – Lauren Rogers
Most Improved – Julia Simon
MVP – Shae-Lynne Dupuis

Men’s Curling
Coaches’ Award – Justin Rhude
Most Improved – Marc Orlando
MVP – Andrew Vanderburg

Nordic Skiing
Coaches’ Award – Laura Thibodeau
Most Improved – Nadine Paul
Rookie of the Year – Marissa Ditoro
MVP – Roberto Lake

Women’s Soccer
Coaches’ Award – Sarah Von Boerdonk
Best Defensive Player – Chelsea Gaudette
Most Dedicated – Enya Farelly
Rookie of the Year – Cassandra Lethbridge
MVP – Terryn Walker

Men’s Soccer
Coaches’ Award – Nicholas Burnie
Best Defensive Player – Maher Alharbi
Most Improved – Warren Joseph
Rookie of the Year – Ebrahim Madouni
MVP – Nicholas Palazzi

Women’s Wrestling
MVP – Lauren Towell

Men’s Wrestling
Coaches’ Award – Noodin Shawanda
Most Improved – Theodore Dracopolous
MVP – Logan McKinnon

Thunderbird Award (to graduating student-athletes)
Carlie Manners (women’s basketball)
Brett Zufelt (men’s basketball)
Andre Barber (men’s basketball)
Daniel Scarpino (men’s cross-country running and men’s soccer)
Andrew Vanderburg (men’s curling)
Kaili Labelle (women’s soccer)
Cheristy Akiwenzie (women’s soccer)
Mussad Almurays (men’s soccer)
Mohammed Alsuraihi (men’s soccer)
Baffa Abdurrahim Yusuf (men’s soccer)
Lauren Towell (women’s wrestling)
Michael Casagrande (men’s wrestling)
Ammar Bin Dhaban (men’s wrestling)

Source: Algoma U Athletics

Leave a Reply